University of Hertfordshire Graduations at St Albans Cathedral

Approximately 16,000 students, their family and friends will join University staff in the grand surroundings of St Albans Abbey for the University of Hertfordshire’s 2017 Awards Ceremonies, which will take place between Monday 4th and Tuesday 12th September.

The prestigious events are an important moment for everyone attending, marking the completion of many students’ course of study and acting as collective celebration of their hard work and achievements.

As well as receiving its graduates the University will show its appreciation to pillars of the community by awarding Honorary Degrees and Fellowships for outstanding contribution to academic disciplines, charity, professions or public service.

2017 recipients include celebrated singer and actress Elaine Paige OBE; playwright, screenwriter and film director Jeremy Butterworth; British parasport athlete David Henson MBE and former Chief Executive of Saracens Rugby Club Edward Griffiths.

Celebrating Achievements

The awards will be presented by Professor Quintin McKellar, Vice-Chancellor; Professor Ian Campbell, Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Mr Richard Beazley, Pro Chancellor and Chairman of the Board of Governors.

Mrs Sue Grant, Secretary and Registrar at the University of Hertfordshire who leads the academic procession at the ceremonies, said: ‘We are incredibly proud of our graduates and these ceremonies reward the dedication and impressive achievements of our students.  We hope that they, along with their family and friends, will enjoy a day of celebration in the city of St Albans.

‘The graduate employment rate for the University is high and we are delighted that our graduates continue to make a positive contribution to the economy. We wish them all the very best for the future and look forward to keeping in touch with them as they move on to the next stage.’

Honorary Degrees and Fellowships will be awarded to:

Mr Philip Waters FRSA - In recognition his services to the University and the community of Hertfordshire

Ms Elaine Paige OBE - In recognition of her outstanding contribution to music and theatre

Mr Jeremy Butterworth - In recognition of his extraordinary contribution to British drama and film

Ms Diane Maclean FRBS - In recognition of her support of the University and her contribution to the sculpture industry and environmental art

Dr Vivienne Cox CBE - In recognition of her outstanding contribution to international development, business and industry

Mr Barry Dodd CBE - In recognition of his contribution to business and industry and entrepreneurship

Mr Edward Griffiths - In recognition his significant contribution to the development of sport

Mrs Catherine Jobling Scorey - In recognition of her contribution to the fashion industry

Mr Andrew Green - In recognition of his contribution to the capturing of oral history

Mr David Henson MBE - In recognition of his services to sport and the community in Hertfordshire

Mr Colin Gordon - In recognition of his services to the University and business

Mr Jim Rodford - In recognition of his services to music

Ms Grace Ononiwu OBE - In recognition her contribution to justice and the legal system, including her ongoing work to promote legal education

The Countess of Verulam - In recognition of her services to the University of Hertfordshire

Mr Dan Dark - In recognition of his contribution to the film industry in Hertfordshire

Mr Christopher Porritt – In recognition of his contribution to the automotive industry

Plan your visit

Download our brochure

Book Tickets