The Council

It is the duty of the Council to further and support the spiritual, pastoral, evangelistic, educational, social and ecumenical work of the Cathedral, reviewing and advising upon the direction and oversight of that work by the Chapter.

In particular, Council considers proposals submitted by the Chapter in connection with the general direction and mission of the Cathedral, and gives advice on these to Chapter; receives and considers the annual budget, and the annual report and audited accounts; and considers proposals submitted by the Chapter regarding revisions to the Cathedral's constitution and statutes.

The Council can request reports from the Chapter on any matter concerning the Cathedral, and can give its opinion on any such matter. It can also draw any matter to the attention of the Visitor or the Church Commissioners.

The membership of the Council

NamePositionTerm of office
Mrs Elizabeth Sergeant Chairman 2016 - 2020
The Very Revd Jeffrey John Dean of St Albans ex officio
The Venerable Jonathan Smith The Archdeacon of St Albans ex officio
The Revd Canon Richard Watson Chapter 2015 - 2019
Graham Field Chapter (Chair of Finance Committee) 2016 - 2020
Mr Philip Waller CBE Chapter 2013 - 2017
The Revd Canon Charles Royden College of Canons 2014 - 2018
The Revd Canon Pam Wise College of Canons 2014 - 2018
Dr Anthea Cecil Elected Lay Member 2014 - 2018
Mrs Rosemary Campbell Elected Lay Member 2015 - 2019
Mrs Margaret Stratton Elected Lay Member 2016 - 2020
Mr Timothy Beecroft Elected Lay Member 2013 - 2017
Mrs Janet Bird Bishop's Council (Archdeaconry of Hertford) 2014 - 2018
The Revd Kevin Goss Bishop's Council (Archdeaconry of Bedford) 2016 - 2020
Hon Alderman Brian Peyton Mayor's representative 2012 - 2016
Mr Michael Elliot Churches Together in St Albans 2013 - 2017
Fr Brian Reynolds Ecumenical Chaplain 2014 - 2018
Vacancy Cathedral Council Appointee  
The Hon Richard Pleydell-Bouverie Cathedral Council Appointee 2014 - 2018
The Right Revd Alan Smith Bishop of St Albans in attendance
Ms Heather Smith Cathedral Administrator and Clerk to the Chapter in attendance

Plan your visit

Download our brochure

Book Tickets

Find what you’re looking for