Date: Saturday 26 February 2022

Time: 7.30pm

Hertfordshire Chorus

Sarah Fox soprano

London Orchestra da Camera

David Temple conductor

Hertfordshire Chorus presents two rarely performed works by two of our greatest romantic English composers. Elgar’s The Black Knight, and Parry’s De Profundis are accompanied by more familiar works by the two composers. Elgar described The Black Knight, Op. 25  as a ‘symphony for chorus and orchestra’ . Written in 1889–93  and first performed in Worcester in April 1893, it tells the story of the intrusion of a mysterious stranger into a medieval king’s court with disastrous and gruesome results.

Elgar is a magnificent story-teller and The Black Knight is no exception. The action is described by the chorus in four dramatic scenes.

Described by Vaughan Williams in a letter to Sir Adrian Boult in 1948 as Parry’s finest work, De Profundis was composed in 1891 and first performed at the Three Choirs Festival in Hereford in September of the same year. Parry set Psalm 130 ‘Out of the depths have I cried unto three, O Lord’ for soprano and twelve part chorus. Rarely performed since then, we are able to bring this neglected masterpiece to a wider audience using a newly reconstructed full score prepared for us by the English Music Heritage Series.

This concert is supported by the Elgar Society


Premium £30 - Centre front with full view

Classic £24 - Centre middle with full view 

Standard plus £19 - Centre back with full view

Standard £14 - Centre back with full view  

No view £14 - Mainly located in the aisles or behind pillars. These seats have no view of the stage.

No view seats will only be released when seats with views have sold out.


Children under 18 £5, Students with ID £5, Carers free.

Wheelchair spaces and carer discounts can only be booked through the Box Office on 01727 890290.


Doors will open 30 minutes before concert starts. There is an interval of 20 minutes during this performance.